Siksha Ashtakam

Siksha Ashtakam
[Octet of Learning]
Composed by Chaitanya Maha Prabhu
Translated by P. R. Ramachander

[Lord Chaithanya, who was very great scholar right from his youth, is believed to have not written many prayers in his great life. This great octet of extreme devotion to Lord Krishna is the only one written by him and is believed to contain the essence of all his teaching.]

Cheto darpana marjanam bhava maha davagni nirvapanam,
Shreyah kairava chandrika vitaranam Vidya vadhujivanam,
Anandambuhdhi vardhanam pratipadam purnamrita asvadanam,
Sarvatmasnapanam param vijayate shrikrishnasankirtanam. 1

Victory to the singing of the names of Krishna,
Which cleans the dirt from the mirror of the heart,
Which puts out the fire of the pain of day today life,
Which spreads the cooling rays of moon everywhere,
Which is the knowledge accumulated by the holy,
Which increases the sea of happiness for ever,
Which makes us taste, fully the divine nectar,
And which is eagerly desired by all beings.

Namnam akari bahudha nija sarvashakti
Statrarpita niyamitah smarane na kalaha
Etadrishi tava kripa bhagavan mamapi
durdaivam idrisham ihajani nanuragahah 2

You have several millions of names,
Which can give real strength to all beings,
And you do not have any rules to chant them,
And this shows me that you are merciful towards me,
But I being unfortunate am not attracted by them.

Trinad api sunicena
Taror api sahishnuna
Amanina manadena
Kirtaniyah sada harihi 3

We should constantly sing the names of Hari,
With more humility than a dried grass,
With more tolerance than a tree,
And with a mind without false prestige.

Na dhanam na janam na sundarim
Kavitam va jagad-isha kamaye
Mama janmani janmanishvare
Bhavatad bhaktir ahaituki tvayi. 4

I do not wish for wealth or followers,
I do not wish for pretty women,
Oh Lord of the entire universe,
But I want to dedicate this life,
And all life after it is in your service.

Ayi nanda-tanuja kinkaram
Patitam mam vishame bhavambudhau
Kripaya tava pada-pankaja-
Sthita dhulisadrisham vichintaya 5

I am your slave, Oh son of Nanda,
But have fallen deep in this sea of birth and death,
So please pick me up from here,
And make me in to a dust of,
Your lotus like feet.

Nayanam galad-ashru-dharaya
Vadanam gadgada-ruddhaya gira
Pulakair nichitam vapuh kada
Tava nama-grahane bhavishyati 6

When will tears fall form my eyes,
When will my face choke up,
And when will my hairs stand erect,
When I hear the recitation of your names.

Yugayitam nimeshena
Chakshusha pravrishayitam
Shunyayitam jagat sarvam
Govinda-virahena mey. 7

When I am not with you Govinda,
Every minute appears like an age,
My eyes shed tears like rain,
And the entire world appears empty.

Ashlishya va pada-ratam pinashtu mam
Adarshanan marma-hatam karotu va
Yatha tatha va vidadhatu lampato
Mat-prana-nathas tu sa eva naparaha 8

My soul will be with him without condition,
Even if he chides me with dirty words,
Even if he breaks my heart by not being with me,
And do as he likes anything and everything.

Disclaimer: Celextel has Created this Vedanta Spiritual Library with a Noble Intention of making these Indian Spiritual Treasures available to One and All. Celextel is taking Absolute Care in Maintaining this Website and Celextel shall not be held Responsible for any Errors or Incorrectness. These Online Books are only for Informative Purposes and shall not be Construed as Rendering of any Professional Advice in any Manner Whatsoever. Readers must Exercise their Own Judgement and Refer to the Original Source for all Practical Purposes.
Distribution, Publication and Unauthorized Copying of these Online Books without Prior Permission of Respective Authors, Publishers or Translators are Prohibited.
Copyright © 2002-2023 Celextel Enterprises Pvt. Ltd. All Rights Reserved.
Innovation Theme by Cagintranet ** Powered by GetSimple
Vedanta Spiritual Library RSS Feed
Vedanta Spiritual Library XML Site Map
Do NOT follow this link or You will be Banned from this Website!